Annual Conference

25 & 26 MARCH 2008



Day 1 : March 25, 2008

Conference Gold Sponsor:   
09.00 – 10.00



10.00 – 11.30

Inaugural Session


Welcome Address :
• Mr. P.S. Saran, Former Secretary, Department of Telecom Services, Chairperson, ITU-APT Foundation of India

Brief Overview of the Conference:
• Dr. S.K. Hajela, Co-Chairperson, ITU-APT Foundation of India

Keynote Address:
• Mr. Kuldeep Goyal, CMD, Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited, Guest of Honour
• Mr. Amarendra Narayan, Former Secretary General, Asia Pacific Telecommunity (APT), Guest of Honour
Inaugural address:
• Mr. Siddartha Behura, IAS, Secretary, Department of Telecommunication, Chief Guest

Vote of Thanks:
Mr. TV Ramachandran, Vice–Chairperson, ITU-APT Foundation of India

11.30 – 12.00

Inaugural Networking Tea Break: Sponsored by


12.00 – 13.30

Session 1 : Policy and Regulation - Panel Discussion

Chair: Mr. G.S. Grover, Member (Services), Dept. of Telecom, Govt. of India

Keynote Address:
Mr. Ajay Ranjan Mishra, Head, Business Development, Nokia Siemens Networks
Towards effective Governance: The Delivery of Public Services through local e-

Mr. S.P. Purwar, J Sagar Associates

• Dr. DPS Seth, President, IPTV Forum
• Mr. T.R. Dua, Senior Director, COAI
• Mr. Parag Kar, Sr. Director ,GA, Qualcomm India Pvt. Ltd
• Mr. N.K. Goyal, Chairman Emeritus, TEMA


13.30 – 14.30

Networking Lunch : Sponsored by


14.30 – 15.30

Session 2 : Technologies and Standards

Chair : Mr. Sameer Sharma, Sr. Advisor, IP-based Networks and ICT Applications
International Telecommunication Union Regional Office for Asia and the
Pacific, Bangkok

Brief Presentation on ITU about its Asia Pacific Activities
Speakers :
Mrs. Deepa Tyagi, DDG (M), Telecommunication Engineering Centre
• Mr. A.K. Bhatnagar, Chief Engineer R&D, All India Radio and Doordarshan, Prasar Bharti
• Dr. Aloknath De, Director, MMC, STMicroelectronics Pvt. Ltd
Wireless Personal Area Network


15.30 – 16.00

Networking Tea Break: Sponsored by


16.00 – 17.00

Session 3 : World Radiocommunication Conference – Past & Future

Chair : Mr. P.K. Garg, Wireless Advisor to the Govt. of India
Speakers :
• Mr. RJS Kushvaha, Joint Wireless Advisor, WPC
• Mr. Bharat Bhatia, Regional Director, Motorola India Pvt Ltd
• Commodore P. Mehra, Director, JCES
• Mr. JP Garg, Principal Advisor, Telecom, NSN




Cocktail Dinner: Sponsored by

At Magnolia Hall , Lower Ground Floor of the India Habitat Center

Day 2 : March 26, 2008

10.30 – 11.30

Session 4 : NGN Challenges and Opportunities

Chair : Mr. Rakesh Agarwal, Advisor (Technology), Department of Telecommunications

Speakers :

Mr. Arun Golas, DDG, Telecommunication Engineering Centre
Mr. S.N. Gupta, Chief Regulatory Advisor, SAARC, Region, BT Global
Mr. SK Gupta, Advisor (CN), Telecom Regulatory Authority of India
Mr. Sanjay Verma, Director, Nokia Siemens Networks

11.30 – 12.00

Networking Tea Break: Sponsored by

12.00 – 13.00

Session 5 : Broadband Access and Applications

Chair: Mr. R.K. Upadhyay, Chairman and Managing Director, TCIL

Speakers :
Mr. B.V. Raman, Country Manager, CDG
Commodore Shyam Kaushal, WiMAX Forum
Mr. A.N.J. Aradhya, DDG(VAS), Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited
Mr. Satyen Bhatia, Head Global Delivery Platform, TIME Broadband Tech


13.00 – 14.00

Lunch: Sponsored by


14.00 – 15.00

Session 6 : Telecom Broadcast Convergence

Chair : Mr. D. Ray, Engineer in Chief, Doordarshan

Speakers :
Mr. Robinder Sachdev, CEO, MO Televenture Pvt. Ltd. .
Mr Rayan Castelino, Director, Thinkways Software Technologies Pvt Ltd
Mr. Nitin Khanna, NORTEL

15.00 – 15.30

Networking Tea break: Sponsored by


15.30 – 16.30

Session 7 : Public Protection & Disaster Management

Chair : Mr. Amarendra Narayan, Former Secretary General, APT

Speakers :
Mr. Bharat Bhatia, Regional Director, Motorola India Pvt Ltd
Mr. K Deka, Former Director, DCPW
Major General Subhash Chandra, National Disaster Management Authority
Mr. D.S. Govindrajan, Iridium Satellite LLC



Closing of the Conference


> Click here for Photographs from this Conference
> Download Event Brochure